Biology A level is split into six teaching modules. Modules 1 to 6, combined with the Practical endorsement, constitute the full A level. The teaching modules can be summarised as:

Module 1:

Development of practical skills in Biology – this module underpins the whole of the specification and covers the practical skills that pupils should develop throughout the course. The practical skills in this module can be assessed within written examinations and within the Practical endorsement.

Module 2:

Foundations in Biology – covering key concepts required throughout the remaining modules.

Module 3:

Exchange and transport.

Module 4:

Biodiversity, evolution and disease.

Module 5:

Communication, homeostasis, and energy.

Module 6:

Genetics, evolution and ecosystems.

Entry Requirements

Pupils awarded triple Science require a 7 in Biology with at least a 6 in Maths. Pupils having achieved double award Science require a 7 with a 6 in Maths. This is due to the high mathematical content of the course, including statistics and quantitative analysis.

Examination Board: OCR
Specification: Biology A

Miss V Burgess – Head of Biology